Skip to main content

Two Scholars Receive 2021 Chancellor’s Awards

April 29, 2021

Two CSS scholars have received 2021 Chancellor’s Awards, the University’s highest student honors recognizing academic achievements and exceptional leadership in campus life, student governance and community service.

Kate Richardson (CSS 5, UNC ’21) has received the Paul E. Shearin Outstanding Senior Award in Physics. This monetary award, established by W.E. Haisley, Professor Emeritus of Physics, honors Paul E. Shearin, Professor of Physics, member of the faculty for 36 years, and Chairman of the Department of Physics and Astronomy for 12 years. It recognizes the member of the senior class majoring in physics who is judged most outstanding on criteria of scholarship, scientific insight and professional seriousness, as determined by the departmental faculty. Kate is a double major in physics and computer science from Boulder, CO.

Kira Griffith (CSS 5, UNC ’21) has received the Roger A. Davis Memorial Award. This award, established in 1966, is given in memory of Roger A. Davis who, as a student, was active in the formation of the residence colleges. It is given by the Residence Hall Association to the undergraduate judged to have given outstanding service to the University, especially through residence hall leadership, and comes with a framed certificate and a monetary award. Kira is a neuroscience major with minors in chemistry and music from St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands.

View a complete list of 2021 Chancellor’s Award recipients here.

Comments are closed.