Skip to main content

2020-2021 CSS Distinguished Scholars Announced

September 23, 2020

The Chancellor’s Science Scholars Program recently announced the 2020-2021 recipients of the CSS Distinguished Scholar Awards. These awards recognize exceptional third- and fourth-year scholars who truly exemplify the program’s core values of academic excellence, undergraduate research, inclusion, and community and go the extra mile to show that excellence is possible.

Senior Charlie Helms (CSS 5, UNC ’20), a computer science major from Fayetteville, NC, was honored as the first CSS Distinguished Service Scholar for his significant contributions to student life and mentorship at UNC. He co-founded the student organization Black in Technology, a computer science organization that fosters mentorship, support and funding for black students who are interested in technology. He also serves as the professional development chair for the Minority Business Student Alliance, a pre-college mentor for Upward Bound, and a leader in Xcel, a peer mentorship program for STEM students. This award will be made annually to a senior who demonstrates significant leadership in service to the Carolina and Chapel Hill communities.

Congratulations to all of our 2020-2021 Distinguished Scholars!


Eyla Arteaga
Matthew Bec
Tesia Bobrowski
Tsion Coulter
Julien DuBois
Alexis Glaudin
Kira Griffith
Charlie Helms
Harrison Jacobs
Kaylene Lu
Kate Richardson
Tylar Watson
Hannah Wilkins
Kipp Williams


Jasmine Akoto
Dalal Azzam
Madyson Barber
Amanda Harris
Daniela Hercules Alfaro
Kena Lemu
Cinthya Plazas
Dana Rubin
Paloma Ruiz
Yolanda Simpson
Gillian Taylor
Maggie Wagner
Avery Wooten
Rebecca Zasloff

Comments are closed.